Is this home?

Where is the skyline oh so blue?

Where is the grass, greener than the other side?

Where is the milk, the honey?

The promised, the deserved?

 

Where are the high towers, pointing to the sky?

Where have the humid, wet air gone?

Why is the horizon unseen and untouched unlike before?

Where are the smell and sound and heat of the sea, that I see in my dreams?

 

Take me home,

Oh! Take me home!

For I long for the wetness in my lips, and on my skin,

I miss the hot summer sun,

Buildings so tall they scrape the skies,

The skies so grey, so real but so fake.

 

But, no.

This is home too,

And love will grow, and promises will be kept at last

And the skies will have the bluest tint,

The greenest grass,

For home is where the heart is.

 

19:37  30.09.12

Cambridge, UK. 

2 Responses to “Is this home?”

  1. Missing home already? Well, not to worry! You’ll adjust 🙂 sorry haven’t got the chance to chat with you, my Skype was automatically on once I turned on my mac, but didn’t mean I was there, hahaha… Hope you’re doing fine *kisses*

Leave a comment